Planning for an unknown future

It’s Friday night at 8:30pm and I’m still “working”…  working on homework, working on my resume, working on clerkship applications, working on job hunting, working on finding meetings so I can go network, working on this blog entry, and the list goes on and on.

So I’m a “work”-a-holic.  I can find PLENTY to keep me busy.  Is it worry?  Maybe.  I know I have skills that employers would KILL to have in a new hire.  (OK… maybe not kill, but you know…)  My question is:  How do I convince some potential employer that not only do I have what they need, but they have to find the budget to hire me?  Call me a pessimist. (I’d rather think I’m a realist.)  Like that’s gonna happen.  (Unless I can prove myself, I just don’t see that happening in this economy, yet).  And even if I could, just how would I do that?

Maybe I don’t….  Maybe instead of trying to convince THEM to hire me, maybe I just need to convince a potential client to hire me… hmmm…. I think I’m on to something here!

I’m a work-a-holic (we just established that), I’ve run a business before (so presumably I know the backroom stuff, right?), and I’m becoming familiar enough with the lawyerly things to be able to find and/or find out what I need…. So, if there’s no hiring yet (or precious little of it!) why don’t I show “them” I can handle business on my own.  I know I’ll like it – I ran my last business for 25 years (before closing it to come to law school) and I LOVED every minute of it.  So, maybe I do it again:  Have my own business – this time in the law.

How about you?  Are you going to sit around and wait for someone to notice you?  Or are YOU gonna get out there? What skills have you developed that you can put to work right now for a client?  (Hey, even if you make a will for your Mom & Dad, or your siblings – they’re still happy clients in the end, right?  And they can give you a recommendation!)

Come on!  You can do it!  YOU take control of YOUR life, YOUR destiny, and your law career!!!

I DARE YOU!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

